Board of Directors

Dirk DeJong, President
Tom Waldo, Vice President
Jack Chrissy, Treasurer

Whitney Metevia, Secretary
Jerry Bowman
Richard Carr
David Cooley

Brian Donovan

Claudia DuBois

Monica McAfee

William Meleski

Mary Phillips

Margaret White
Dan Yaffe

Charles Zimmerman

Honorary Board of Directors

Dustin DuBois

Shirley Farris

Rick Green

Dotie Keith-Lazowick

Chip LaMarca

About Us


The mission of the Sample-McDougald House is to preserve, interpret and share its history & culture.


South Florida's home for heritage

Core Values

Honor & Preserve Authentic Heritage
Teamwork & Collaboration
Excellence in Presentation
Integrity & Transparency
Inclusion & Diversity
Stay Relevant with Change

Strategic Goals 2017-2020

Grow Capacity and Build Financial Sustainability (Funding)
Enhance the Visitor Experience (Engagement)
Generate Greater Public Awareness (Marketing)
Enhance & Maintain Our Historic Presence (Preservation)